Cicilline Leads 169 Reps Asking President-Elect Trump to Reverse Bannon Appointment

Nov 16, 2016

WASHINGTON – 169 members of the U.S. House, led by Congressman David N. Cicilline (D-RI), today sent a letter asking President-elect Donald Trump to rescind alt-right leader Steve Bannon’s appointment as White House Chief Strategist. Although Republican members of the House were invited to sign Cicilline’s letter, none did so.

“Bigotry, anti-Semitism, and xenophobia should have no place in our society, and they certainly have no place in the White House. Whether intentional or not, the appointment of Mr. Bannon sends a disturbing message about what kind of president Donald Trump wants to be,” said Cicilline, a member of the House Judiciary Committee. “I am grateful that so many of my colleagues joined me in this request today. I hope that the President-elect will consider our concerns as he prepares to enter office.”

The full text and a list of signers is embedded below. A PDF of the letter sent to Trump Tower today can be downloaded by clicking here.


Dear President-elect Trump:

Immediately following your victory, many Americans were optimistic and hopeful that you would take the steps necessary to unify our country following the divisive and contentious election.  In your election night speech you said, “Now it’s time for America to bind the wounds of division.  It is time for us to come together as one united people.”  Unfortunately, your appointment of Stephen Bannon, whose ties to the White Nationalist movement have been well-documented, directly undermines your ability to unite the country.  As elected representatives of millions of Americans from diverse backgrounds, religions, and ethnicities, we strongly urge you to reconsider your decision to appoint Mr. Bannon to White House Chief Strategist.

Since the election there have been a number of incidents across the country in which minorities, including Muslim Americans, African Americans, Hispanic Americans, and Jewish Americans, have been the targets of violence, harassment and intimidation. Mr. Bannon’s appointment sends the wrong message to people who have engaged in those types of activities, indicating that they will not only be tolerated, but endorsed by your Administration.  Millions of Americans have expressed fear and concern about how they will be treated by the Trump Administration and your appointment of Mr. Bannon only exacerbates and validates their concerns.

As the Executive Chairman of Breitbart News, Mr. Bannon repeatedly and aggressively pushed stories that promote anti-Semitism, xenophobia, and racism. During an interview last summer, Mr. Bannon bragged that Breitbart was “the platform for the alt-right,” a movement that upholds White Nationalism while strongly rejecting diversity in any form. Under Mr. Bannon’s leadership, Breitbart has referred to a leading Republican who opposed your election as a “Renegade Jew,” suggested “Young Muslims in the West are a ticking time bomb,” declared that the “Confederate flag proclaims a glorious heritage,” and praised the alt-right as a “smarter” version of “old-school racist skinheads.”

Disturbingly, leading white nationalists like former KKK Grand Dragon David Duke, American Nazi Party Chairman Rocky J. Suhadya, Richard Spencer, Peter Brimelow, and Brad Griffin have praised the news of Mr. Bannon’s appointment.  We believe it should concern you that civil rights groups, including the Anti-Defamation League and the Southern Poverty Law Center, are widely opposed to Mr. Bannon’s appointment.

We strongly believe that Mr. Bannon’s appointment will not allow the country to heal and come together as one. As one of your top advisors, the White House chief strategist will help set the tone for your administration. The person in this role must be prepared to serve the interests of all Americans, not those of a select few.

Once again, we strongly urge you to rescind this appointment immediately and build a diverse White House staff who are committed to the core American values of inclusiveness, diversity and tolerance.


David N. Cicilline (RI-1)

Alma Adams (NC-12)

Pete Aguilar (CA-31)

Karen Bass (CA-37)

Joyce Beatty (OH-3)

Xavier Becerra (CA-34)

Ami Bera (CA-7)

Donald Beyer (VA-8)

Sanford Bishop (GA-2)

Earl Blumenauer (OR-3)

Suzanne Bonamici (OR-1)

Madeleine Bordallo (Guam)

Brendan Boyle (PA-13)

Robert Brady (PA-1)

Julia Brownley (CA-26)

Cheri Bustos (IL-17)

G.K. Butterfield (NC-1)

Michael Capuano (MA-7)

Tony Cardenas (CA-29)

John Carney (DE-At large)

Andre Carson (IN-7)

Matt Cartwright (PA-17)

Kathy Castor (FL-14)

Joaquin Castro (TX-20)

Judy Chu (CA-27)

Katherine Clark (MA-5)

Yvette Clarke (NY-9)

William Lacy Clay (MO-1)

Emanuel Cleaver (MO-5)

James Clyburn (SC-6)

Steve Cohen (TN-9)

Gerald Connolly (VA-11)

John Conyers (MI-13)

Jim Cooper (TN-5)

Joe Courtney (CT-2)

Joseph Crowley (NY-14)

Elijah Cummings (MD-7)

Danny Davis (IL-7)

Susan Davis (CA-53)

Peter DeFazio (OR-4)

Diana DeGette (CO-1)

John Delaney (MD-6)

Rosa DeLauro (CT-3)

Suzan DelBene (WA-1)

Mark DeSaulnier (CA-11)

Ted Deutch (FL-21)

Debbie Dingell (MI-12)

Lloyd Doggett (TX-35)

Michael Doyle (PA-14)

Tammy Duckworth (IL-8)

Donna Edwards (MD-4)

Keith Ellison (MN-5)

Eliot Engel (NY-16)

Anna Eshoo (CA-18)

Elizabeth Esty (CT-5)

Dwight Evans (PA-2)

Sam Farr (CA-20)

Bill Foster (IL-11)

Lois Frankel (FL-22)

Marcia Fudge (OH-11)

Ruben Gallego (AZ-7)

John Garamendi (CA-3)

Gwen Graham (FL-2)

Al Green (TX-9)

Gene Green (TX-29)

Raul Grijalva (AZ-3)

Luis Gutierrez (IL-4)

Janice Hahn (CA-44)

Colleen Hanabusa (HI-1)

Alcee Hastings (FL-20)

Denny Heck (WA-10)

Brian Higgins (NY-26)

James Himes (CT-4)

Ruben Hinojosa (TX-15)

Michael Honda (CA-17)

Jared Huffman (CA-2)

Steve Israel (NY-3)

Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18)

Hakeem Jeffries (NY-8)

Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX-30)

Hank Johnson  (GA-4)

Marcy Kaptur (OH-9)

William Keating (MA-9)

Robin Kelly (IL-2)

Joseph Kennedy (MA-4)

Dan Kildee (MI-5)

Derek Kilmer (WA-6)

Ron Kind (WI-3)

Ann Marie Kuster (NH-2)

James Langevin (RI-2)

Rick Larsen (WA-2)

John Larson (CT-1)

Brenda Lawrence (MI-14)

Barbara Lee (CA-13)

Sander Levin (MI-9)

John Lewis (GA-5)

Ted Lieu (CA-33)

Dave Loebsack (IA-2)

Zoe Lofgren (CA-19)

Alan Lowenthal (CA-47)

Nita Lowey (NY-17)

Ben Ray Lujan (NM-3)

Michelle Lujan Grisham (NM-1)

Stephen Lynch (MA-8)

Carolyn Maloney (NY-12)

Sean Patrick Maloney (NY-18)

Doris Matsui (CA-6)

Betty McCollum (MN-4)

Jim McDermott (WA-7)

James McGovern (MA-2)

Jerry McNerney (CA-9)

Gregory Meeks (NY-5)

Grace Meng (NY-6)

Gwen Moore (WI-4)

Seth Moulton (MA-6)

Patrick Murphy (FL-18)

Jerrold Nadler (NY-10)

Grace Napolitano (CA-32)

Richard Neal (MA-1)

Richard Nolan (MN-8)

Donald Norcross (NJ-1)

Eleanor Holmes Norton (DC)

Beto O'Rourke (TX-16)

Frank Pallone (NJ-6)

Bill Pascrell (NJ-9)

Donald Payne Jr. (NJ-10)

Ed Perlmutter (CO-7)

Scott Peters (CA-52)

Chellie Pingree (ME-1)

Mark Pocan (WI-2)

Jared Polis (CO-2)

David Price (NC-4)

Mike Quigley (IL-5)

Kathleen Rice (NY-4)

Cedric Richmond (LA-2)

Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA-40)

Raul Ruiz (CA-36)

Tim Ryan (OH-13)

Linda Sanchez (CA-38)

Loretta Sanchez (CA-46)

John Sarbanes (MD-3)

Jan Schakowsky (IL-9)

Adam Schiff (CA-28)

Kurt Schrader (OR-5)

Bobby Scott (VA-3)

Jose Serrano (NY-15)

Terri Sewell (AL-7)

Albio Sires (NJ-8)

Louise McIntosh Slaughter (NY-25)

Adam Smith (WA-9)

Jackie Speier (CA-14)

Eric Swalwell (CA-15)

Mark Takano (CA-41)

Bennie Thompson (MS-2)

Mike Thompson (CA-5)

Dina Titus (NV-1)

Paul Tonko (NY-20)

Norma Torres (CA-35)

Niki Tsongas (MA-3)

Chris Van Hollen (MD-8)

Juan Vargas (CA-51)

Marc Veasey (TX-33)

Nydia Velazquez (NY-7)

Timothy Walz (MN-1)

Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL-23)

Maxine Waters (CA-43)

Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12)

Peter Welch (VT-At large)

Frederica Wilson (FL-24)

John Yarmuth (KY-3)